Do You Nanowrimo?

The keyboard of the Malling-Hansen writing bal...

Do you Nanowrimo? ©  copyright 2012  by Sara Jacobelli

November is NaNoWriMo month. Do you NaNoWriMo? Yeah, sounds kinky, but stands for National Novel Writing Month. Produce a 50,000 word novel in one month. Pretty ambitious, don’t you think?

I  thought of trying this, since I am attempting to write a novel. Thought it might give me a push. But in looking at their website, I can see that NaNoWriMo is not for me. I really don’t want to share any portions of my novel until I have a decent first draft completed. It’s too much like having someone looking over my shoulder while I’m writing. Call me superstitious, but hey, who’s more superstitious than writers, gamblers and fishermen/fisherwomen?

Also, I didn’t see any way I could write 50,000 words in a month, unless I became a meth addict. (Since I can’t stand cranksters,that ain’t gonna happen).  Plus, I’m not crazy about the emphasis on quantity here, as opposed to quality.

That said, I still think that the project could push some people to produce a basic outline for a novel, as long as he or she realizes that after one month, the work is just beginning.

As for me:  I started my novel about a week before NaNoWriMo, and. . .  I am still on the first chapter.

 

NaNoWriMo web site:  http://www.nanowrimo.org/

 

Salon magazine’s take on NaNoWriMo:  http://www.salon.com/2010/11/02/nanowrimo/

(I learned from the Salon article that Sara Gruen, who wrote “Water for Elephants,” participated in NaNoWriMo).

 

Slate magazine’s take on NaNoWriMo:  http://www.slate.com/blogs/browbeat/2011/11/23/nanowrimo_how_to_write_50_000_words_in_one_month.html

 

Fake NaNoWriMo Tips: https://twitter.com/FakeNNWMTips

 

LA Times article with the best NaNoWriMo Advice:

http://articles.latimes.com/2012/nov/01/entertainment/la-et-national-novel-writing-month-advice-20121101

 

Photo Credit: “The keyboard of the Malling-Hansen writing ball, invented in 1865 by Rasmus Malling-Hansen,” by Wikipedia, Public Domain Photo.

6 Comments

Filed under Literature, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Do You Nanowrimo?

  1. Pingback: Do You Nanowrimo? | Capitare a Fagiolo

  2. Pingback: Day 23 of NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 23 – All Good Things Start With ‘C’ « What If It All Means Something

  4. Pingback: 5 Things I Figured Out During This Year’s NaNoWriMo « My Two Cents

  5. Pingback: Writing a novel on the iPad | martinturner.org.uk

  6. Pingback: My Novel Is Complete But I Have Not Yet Reached 50,000 Words? | An Evil Nymph's Blog

Leave a Reply

