Tales from the Road: New Orleans,1976 My First Mardi Gras

New Orleans Mardi Gras parade on Canal Street,...

Tales from the Road: New Orleans, 1976

My First Mardi Gras  (Flash Nonfiction)

© copyright 2012  by Sara Jacobelli

Dinner:  Central Lockup moldy baloney sandwiches. Dessert:  the primordial smell of despair. My downstairs bunkmate is an old drunk barfly, she leaves me alone. The woman in the cell across from me provides the singular entertainment;  she recites soap opera plots nonstop line by line. I am young and skinny and climb the bars and bounce off the walls to burn off energy. There is a barred window down the end of the hall, you can’t see anything, but you can hear the faint sounds of carnival parades somewhere in the distance.

Photo Credit: “1890s Mardi Gras parade on Canal Street,” by Wikipedia, Public Domain Photo.

4 Comments

Filed under Literature, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Tales from the Road: New Orleans,1976 My First Mardi Gras

  1. Pingback: Tales from the Road: New Orleans,1976 My First Mardi Gras | Capitare a Fagiolo

  2. Good outline for a short story, so, how about a story?

  3. Mark

    But I do want to see a real story.

Leave a Reply

