Riding the 88 St. Claude Bus

Bus seat

© copyright 2013 by Sara Jacobell    Flash Nonfiction

Mother and Child

Exchange between young mother and her little boy, about two or three years old, who is sitting on her lap:

Whatchoo lookin’ at?

Whatchoo lookin’ at?

Don’t look at me like that!

Don’t look at me like that!

Told you don’t look at me like that!

Told you don’t look at me like that!

I hate people lookin’ at me like that!

I hate people lookin’ at me like that!

Gonna punch you in the face!

Gonna punch you in the face!

 

 

 

Life Lessons

Late middle-aged  man:

I don’t hate nobody no more. I believe in God because God saved me. I been through it all. I been shot. I been shot so many times. Once in my chest, (unbuttons his shirt to show his gunshot wounds). I can’t show you the other shots, cuz they in private places. (The Bus Crowd laughs) But now I don’t hate. I don’t hate nobody no more. God didn’t keep me alive to hate. These young ones gotta learn that, they gotta stop killin’ each other. That’s all I gotta say.

 

 

Too Cool For Words

Young Wanna Be Hipster Dude, wearing long expensive coat, talking very loudly on phone:

Hey girl, howzit goin’ in Alaska? Hey, man, this is so fuckin’ cool. I’m in New Orleans! Yeah, I’m in New Orleans! And I’m on this bus, see, I don’t even know where I am or where I’m fuckin’ goin’,  and it’s all African Americans, but me. I think there’s one Spanish lady and one Asian lady. Isn’t that fuckin’ cool? New Orleans is so fuckin’ cool! I’m in the hood, I’m in the fuckin’ hood!”

Older gentleman sitting across the aisle from the Wanna Be Hipster:

Young man, hey, you need to watch your language, don’t be swearin’ on this bus. They’s ladies here. Thank you.

**********

Photo Credit:”Bus Seat,”  CC License Attribution Only. Flickr.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Literature, Uncategorized

One response to “Riding the 88 St. Claude Bus

  1. Pingback: Riding the 88 St. Claude Bus | Capitare a Fagiolo

Leave a Reply

