The Motel Family: Part Eighteen

Dollar Sign in Space - Illustration

© Copyright 2014 by Sara Jacobelli

A Pirate’s Treasure!

 

Sunday, May 30th, 1982

Cara Nonna,

 

I hope you are doing OK in Sicily. I sure hope I can visit you there some day.  I’m sorry that I’m always telling you Bad Stuff about Papa. Mama says I should remember that he is your Son and you love him. She says a Mama loves a Son in a Special Way, different than she loves a daughter. (Which might explain why Gino is such a Spoiled Brat). But I have to finish telling you what happened next:

 

Mr. Carlo locked the door behind him. The duffel bag was pad-locked, so he took a knife out of his pocket and sliced it open. We both got down on our knees to rifle through the bag.

“Seems like justa lot a magazines and clothes and towels and stuff. Maybe there’s nothin in here.”

“Take those magazines, Kid, go trew em page by page. He probly stuck the money in there.”

I opened up an old Reader’s Digest and sure enough, a hundred dollar bill was Scotch-taped onto the page titled, Laughter is the Best Medicine.

“Wow, Laughter is really the Best Medicine when you got this.” I carefully peeled off the tape and held up the hundred dollar bill. “Soldi. Ho io soldi. Sono ricco.” Mr. Carlo laughed.

Cricket banged on the door. “Mr. Carlo, I need change for da register. An I need some ernge juice.”

“Send Melvin to the A &P.”

“Melvin ain’t nowhere.”

“Alright, give me a few.”

We went through all the magazines and kept finding more hundred dollar bills. Mr. Carlo whistled while he counted. He’s a fast Money Counter. We were two Pirates in this together.

“How much?”

He held up some money. “I could tell how much this is, just by makin a stack and feelin the stack. See this here, this is a grand.”

“So how much is all of it, you think?”

“Looks like four grand, babe. Four grand and some change, some spicci.  A nice haul, I’d say. I’ll keep it locked up,  while you decide what to do wit it.” He stood up, brushed floor dirt off his immaculate designer jeans.

“You think Papa made all this money selling Coke?”

“Some of it. Some of it he just robbed from Drug Dealers, plain and simple. If I’m lyin I’m dying, your old man’s a piece a work. Piece a work.”

“That’s wrong. He shouldna done that.”

“I know, baby. At least the Drug Dealers are working, running a business. I don’t mind em so much, long as they ain’t doin it in here. Gotta protect my liquor license. But robbin em, that’s pretty low.”

“Mama said you don’t even have a liquor license.”

“Baby, I’m workin on it. You know what I do? I give the code guy a little somethin, I give em a busteralla, a little envelope stuffed with one a these Ben Franklins here. Once a month. That’s my liquor license.”

“You gotta help us, Mr. Carlo. What about the money he owed for gambling debts? They’re not gonna come after me an Mama an Gino an Antonietta?” I pictured gangs of Mob Guys like Al Capone breaking down the door in the middle of the night, shooting all of us with tommy guns and selling Mama to the White Slave Harems.

“Nah, I’ll take a grand a this and straighten it out for ya. That leaves three grand for you to take care of your Mama and the kids.”

“You could do it for free, I bet.”

He touched my face. “Carina. Yes I could. But sweetheart, I can’t be seen playin the fool.  Capisce?”

“Si. Capisco.” I looked at the duffel bag. “I could give those towels to Mama? We could sure use em.”

He smiled and winked at me. “Sure, Kid. Leave em here now, first you gotta go to the A & P.”

Cricket banged on the door again. “Mr. Carlo! Melvin’s Missing in Action, I ain’t got no quarters, I can’t give change without a solid quarter. We got no ernge juice for Mrs. Reilly’s screwdrivers.”

“I’ll send Dani.” He gave me two twenties. “Get juice and a roll a quarters, Mr. Bushy’ll give it to ya. Then keep the other twenty to buy a apizza for ya Mama an em tonight.”

“But where’ll I tell Mama I got the money from?”

“Workin. You been working here, this is a Bonus.”

“What about the rest of the Money?”

He leaned in close. “Dani, Don’t tell anyone. Don’t tell your Mama yet, an don’t tell Dakota. Specially don’t tell Tootsie. You might love her, but she’s still a Junkie. Meet me here tomorrow after school.”

“School’s out for the Summer.”

“I forgot, Kid.”

“I’m worried. Mama got to see Papa in Jail. He told her to go on down to the Greyhound station even though she don’t have the key to the locker, talk the guy into giving her his duffle bag.” We walked out of the office. He locked the door behind him.

“And since I already got the bag, Mama’s gonna figure this out.”

“Ragazza. Stai zito. Don’t say no more.”

************

Cricket hovered over me, nosy and suspicious. She didn’t dare say anything til Mr. Carlo left. “What were you two talkin bout in his Office? He don’t even let me IN there.”

I hated everything about her, from her bleached blonde hair to her halter top and denim short shorts and four inch high purple clogs. She’s the Type Papa calls Dumb as a Rock.

“Just Stuff. He an my Mama are Good Friends.”

“Yeah, I bet they’re Good Friends. Very Good Friends. She was smart, she’d let him set her up. These Bar Owners set their Girls up Nice.” She took a drag on her Virginia Slim and let out a long puff of smoke. “I’d go for him myself, but he ain’t intrested. Says I’m too fuckin skinny.” Her green eyes looked at me, searching. “You’re pretty closed mouth for a Little Kid. I ain’t never seen no Kid like you before.”

“I AIN’T a Little Kid.”

“Baby, you ain’t been fucked, you ain’t had your heart broken, you ain’t had a baby, you ain’t loved a man who’s doin time. I’d say that makes ya a Little Kid.” Cricket poured herself a shot a Jose Cuervo and downed it in two seconds.

“Where’s my screwdriver? I’mma tell Mr. Carlo you all are ignorin me. I’mma gonna make-a complaint to the Board a Health, the Effa-Be-Eye an the See-Eye-A.” Mrs. Reilly made piles of pennies an nickels on the bar.  “I work, I clean houses every day, I got me a job. I want my God-Damned drink.”

Cricket dumped some ice in a go cup and filled it with bar brand vodka. “There’s your drink, Bitch. You got vodka but no juice. Onna house.” She looked at me. “You goin to the store or what?”

“Alright, I’m going,” I stood in the doorway and turned around to glare at Cricket. She always talked down to me and Dakota, which Mama and Tootsie never did. They yelled,  they threw things, they slapped us when we screwed up but they didn’t treat us like stupid no-nothing retarded little Babies. “Hey Cricket, you know what?”

“What?” She plopped on a stool, pulled out a nail file,  filed a nail absentmindedly. Her nails were long and painted hot pink.

“It’s true, I never did those first three things. But I do love a man who’s in Jail, an he’s facing doing some Time.  Serious Time.  My Papa.”

“What baby?” Cricket put down the nail file and stood on a barstool, reaching up to change channels on the TV, a dangerous assignment on the rickety stool, especially since she wore those fancy four inch high chunky clogs. The old Morning News guys were gone, and the Soap Opera crowd was drifting in.

“I said, I know what it means to love a man Behind Bars. My own Father.”

“I know, honey. Your Mama got her some Jail Babies now. Ain’t it a shame?”

The corny music started up, and the deep voiced announcer proclaimed, “These are the Days of Our lives.”

****************

 

Photo Credit:  “Dollar Sign in Space-Illustration,” by DonkeyHotey. CC License Attribution Only.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Literature, Uncategorized

One response to “The Motel Family: Part Eighteen

  1. Pingback: The Motel Family: Part Eighteen | Capitare a Fagiolo

Leave a Reply

